Saga Awards: Netflix is the big winner

After countless wins during the awards season that nominated "Land of the Nomads" as the leading Oscar nominee this year, director Chloe Zhao's acclaimed drama was surprisingly ignored at the Actors Guild Awards (SAG) ceremony held Monday morning.

Frances McDormand, who received so much praise for her performance as a homeless woman wandering across the southwestern United States, was left empty-handed and so was the case of veteran Anthony Hopkins, who mesmerized critics in his role in the film "The Father." The two veteran and revered actors have been pushed aside in favor of the late Viola Davis and Chadwick Bozeman, the stars of the Netflix musical drama - "Ma Rainey's Blues."

Davis is the only African-American nominee in the film category for Best Actress, beating McDormand as well as Amy Adams ("The Appalachian Diaries"), Vanessa Kirby ("Tears of a Woman") and Carrie Mulligan ("Promising Young Woman"). Like Davis, Bozeman, who passed away this year, was the only black rep in the equivalent of Best Actor in the Cinema category, beating Hopkins, Reese Ahmad ("Metal Sounds"), Gary Oldman ("Maneck") and Stephen Yuan ("Minari").

This trend continued in the category of supporting actor in cinema in which Daniel Roya won for his role in the historical drama "Judah and the Black Messiah", while overcoming Sasha Baron Cohen ("The Law of the Swearing-in from Chicago"), Jared Leto ("The Little Things"), Leslie Odom Junior ("One Night in Miami") and also Bozeman, who received another nomination for his appearance as a supporting actor in Spike Lee's film - "The Gold of Norman". In the parallel category for supporting actresses, it was the Korean Yun Yu Zhang who won her appearance in "Minari", thus beating veteran actresses Olivia Coleman ("The Father"), Glenn Close ("The Appalachian Diaries"), as well as the Maria discoveries. Bakalova ("Borat 2") and Helena Zengel ("Big World News").

Sasha Baron Cohen can at least take comfort in the fact that he won the award as part of the drama cast in Aron Sorkin's film The Chicago Inauguration Trial, along with Eddie Redmine, Yaya Abdul-Matin II, Alex Sharp, John Carol Lynch, Michael Keaton, G. And Zef Gordon-Levitt and others. This win joins Netflix's absolute dominance this year in the film industry, with competitors from "Norman's Gold" and "Ma Rainee's Blues" also included in this category, alongside "One Night in Miami" from Amazon and "Minari", winner of last year's Sundance Film Festival. The only cinema originally intended for cinema screenings and distributed online by A24.

When it comes to the television arena, it seems that the Cultural Revolution has not yet gotten there, and most of the winners were still white actors and creators. The ensemble award for the drama series was won by Netflix's "The Crown," which this season focused on the affair surrounding Princess Diana and defeated "Trust Sol," "Bridgerton," "Ozark" and "Land of Lovecraft." The Best Actor in a Drama Award went to Jason Bateman for "Ozark" (also from Netflix), beating Josh O'Connor ("The Crown"), Bob Odenkirk ("Trust Sol") and the two black nominees in this category. : Sterling K.. Brown ("Life Itself") and Reggae-Jean Page ("Bridgerton"). The award for Best Actress went to Gillian Anderson for her role in "The Crown" and surpassed her two teammates on the series, Olivia Coleman and Emma Corinne. The other two nominees - Julia Garner and Laura Linney - represented Ozark.

The ensemble award for the comedy series was won by "Shit's Creek" which defeated "Ted Lasso", "The Stewardess", "The Great One" and "For Me You Are Dead", and the award for best comedian actress went to Catherine O'Hara, who was a member of the same winning ensemble alongside Annie Murphy (who was Also among the nominees) and also defeated Kylie Kwoko from "The Stewardess" and Christina Applegate and Linda Cardlini, who together represented "For Me You Die". In the parallel category for best actor in a comedy series, Jason Sodeikis won "Ted Lasso", being preferred over the Levy family from the cast of "Shit's Creek" actors - Father Eugene and son Dan, as well as the Egyptian comedian Rami Yosef from "Rami" And Nicholas Holt from "The Great One."

The Israeli actress "Rebel" star, Shira Haas, was absent from the list of nominees for best actress in a mini-series or TV movie, and as in previous ceremonies, it was Anya Taylor-Joy who scooped the coveted award for her appearance in "Queen Gambit" and left Kate behind. Blanchett ("Miss America"), Nicole Kidman ("You Should Have Known"), Kerry Washington ("Little Fires Everywhere") and Mikaela Cole ("Destroy You"). In the corresponding category for the actors, Mark Ruffalo won for "My Brother's Guard," leaving behind Bill Camp ("Queen Gambit"), Hugh Grant ("You Should Have Known"), Ethan Hawke (The Good Lord Bird) and David Diggs ("Hamilton"). ).

The Players Guild also pays homage to stuntmen who keep players safe from unwanted injuries. The Stunt Ensemble in the TV series won the members of the "Mandalorian" team, while in the corresponding category to the cinema won the stuntmen (especially the stuntwomen) of "Wonder Woman 1984", with the help of Gal Gadot passed the filming unscathed.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author